The All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) are a group of autonomous government public medical colleges of higher education. These institutes have been declared by an Act of Parliament as Institutes of National Importance.

AIIMS New Delhi, the fore-runner institute, was established in 1956. Since then, 22 more institutes were announced. As of January 2020, fifteen institutes are operating and eight more are expected to become operational until 2025. Proposals were made for six more AIIMS.

The first AIIMS was established in 1956 under the All India Institute of Medical Sciences Act, 1956. Originally proposed by the then Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru for establishment in Calcutta, it was established in New Delhi following the refusal of Chief Minister of West Bengal Bidhan Chandra Roy. The act established AIIMS New Delhi, which was then known simply as All India Institute of Medical Sciences, and gave it the Institutes of National Importance (INI) status.

AIIMS Institutes

The AIIMS institutes are located in:

  1. AIIMS NEW DELHI                –       DELHI
  2. AIIMS BHOPAL                      –       MADHYA PRADESH
  4. AIIMS JODHPUR                    –       RAJASTHAN
  5. AIIMS PATNA                         –       BIHAR
  6. AIIMS RAIPUR                       –       CHATTISGARH
  7. AIIMS RISHIKESH                –        UTTARAKHAND
  8. AIIMS RAEBARELI               –        UTTAR PRADESH
  10. AIIMS NAGPUR                     –        MAHARASHTRA
  11. AIIMS GORAKHPUR            –         UTTAR PRADESH
  12. AIIMS BATHINDA                –         PUNJAB
  13. AIIMS BIBINAGAR                –         TELANGANA
  14. AIIMS KALYANI                    –         WEST BENGAL
  15. AIIMS DEOGHAR                  –          JHARKHAND

There are 8 more AIIMS are under development in cities

  1. Madurai
  2. Darbhanga
  3. Assam
  4. Bilaspur
  5. Jammu
  6. Kashmir
  7. Gujarat
  8. Haryana.

In November 2010, the health ministry stated that all 22 new AIIMS will be functional by February 2025. There are also proposals for establishing AIIMS in Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tripura and Mizoram.


After the enactment of NMC Act 2019 in September 2019, NEET-UG became common for all India entrance test for admissions to medical colleges in India including the All India Institutes of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), which until then conducted separate entrances.